35th EU PVSEC, 24 - 28 September 2018
SQUARE - Brussels Meeting Centre, Brussels, Belgium

25 September 2017, Main Auditorium, ground floor - Free Admission to the Monday Opening

08:30 - 09:30 Scientific Opening / Plenary Session 1AP.1
Stairway to High Efficiency

Monday's Scientific Opening Session features three plenary presentations which demonstrate PV solar technologies at its best:

Nicholas J. Ekins-Daukes, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
John Van Roosmalen, ECN, Netherlands

Indirect to Direct Bandgap Transition in Methylammonium Lead Halide Perovskite
T. Wang, B. Daiber, S.A. Mann, E.C. Garnett & B. Ehrler AMOLF, Amsterdam, Netherlands J.M. Frost & A. Walsh Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Maximum Power Extraction Enabled by Monolithic Tandems Using Interdigitated Back Contact Bottom Cells with Three Terminals
M. Rienäcker, S. Kajari-Schröder, R. Niepelt, R. Brendel & R. Peibst ISFH, Emmerthal, Germany E. Warren, M. Schnabel, P. Stradins & A. Tamboli NREL, Golden, United States

Monolithic III-V//Si Multi-Junction Solar Cell Exceeding an Efficiency of 31%
J. Benick, R. Cariou, P. Beutel, D. Lackner, N. Tucher, M. Hermle, S.W. Glunz, A.W. Bett & F. Dimroth Fraunhofer ISE, Freiburg, Germany

These are the first presentations of the 5 days Conference. More than 1,100 contributions to the Conference will be featured during this week.

10:00 – 11:00 Opening Addresses

Arno Smets
EU PVSEC General Chairman
Professor Solar Energy at Delft University of Technology

  • Arno Smets, Introduction
  • Ed Nijpels, Chairman Standing Committee of the National Agreement on Energy for Sustainable Growth, The Netherlands
  • Mark Van Stiphout, European Commission Directorate General Energy
  • Jan Marc Luchies, Chief Technology Officer, Tempress, Amtech Systems, The Netherlands
  • Wim Sinke, Director TKI - Top consortium for Knowledge and Innovation, Topsector Energy, Manager Development ECN Solar Energy

11:00 – 12:15 The Moderated Panel Discussion


  • Multi-Terawatt Photovoltaics – Going Beyond Wholesale Electricity


  • Paolo Frankl, Head of Renewable Energy Division, IEA - International Energy Agency, France


  • Georgina Grenon, Director, 100%RE Solutions ENGIE, France
  • Nicola Melchiotti, Head of European Public Affairs and Regulation, Enel, Belgium
  • Thomas Nowak, Secretary General European Heat Pump Association AISBL (EHPA), Belgium
  • Michael Schmela, Executive Advisor Solar Power Europe (SPE) and Global Solar Council (GSC)
  • Marko Topič, Chairman of European Technology & Innovation Platform Photovoltaics ETIP PV

12:15 – 12:45 Becquerel Prize Ceremony

 The Becquerel Prize will be awarded in a solemn ceremony and features the key note speech "PV and beyond - from technology to the energy system".